Concept Art: Creating a World

I began with a few varying ideas for this project and what I wanted it to be about. The premise I started with was that, all worlds exist. From there I began to question how I wanted this world to exist.

1. Is the world’s existence external to all others? If it is a completely external world would anyone other than the inhabitants have knowledge of this world?

2. Can the world be found accidentally? This thought was introduced to me when thinking of worlds such as ‘Wonderland’ and ‘Narnia’ which are stumbled upon by children, which than led me to thinking, is the world an alternate dimension?

3. As it always seems to be children who find these other worlds, does this mean that a character has to be innocent in order to enter it?

4. If the character must be innocent does this mean there is some moral system at work in this world? Perhaps children stumble into these worlds accidentally because of their innocence but adults could enter one of these worlds through more arcane means.

5. Does the character have to be conscious that they are entering another world? Can the world be found through dreams? If it is only the mind or spirit which enters this world does that mean the dead could reside there?

6. If this world is more incorporeal an inhabited by, ‘Spirit Creatures’ this would give the landscape more opportunity to change and evolve on whim rather than reason. Therefore the personality of a creature could affect the landscapes appearance. Perhaps only deity like entities or particularly powerful creatures possess this skill.

These were the thoughts and questions that began helping my world take shape. For visual inspiration I used Google Maps to look at different landscapes and locations which I found helpful for developing my idea.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.49.10 AM  – East Africa

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.49.22 AM  – East Africa

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.58.13 AM  – Italy

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.54.21 AM  – Australia

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.52.12 AM  – Thailand

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.50.39 AM  – Russia

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.37.55 AM – Italy

After finding several locations which helped to develop my idea the most I began to realize that I was being heavily influenced by the Italian landscape.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.59.09 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.58.13 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.55.54 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.55.44 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.56.10 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.52.18 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.51.05 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.49.59 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.49.15 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 11.46.19 AM

As this landscape was influencing my thoughts so much I thought it would be interesting to base the names and places of my world on the Italian language. I wanted this world to be a place of forgotten gods and creatures so calling it ‘Forgotten Land’ seemed an ideal name so I decided to fin the Italian variation of this which was Terra Dimentica. I followed this pattern for naming all the locations I was considering for design.

Isola Di Morte: Isle of the Dead

Isola Di Sogni: Isle of Dreams

Nessuna: Nowhere

Cerchio Degli Dei: Circle of Gods

Nebbia: Mist

Palude: Swamp

As I was creating a fairly diverse landscape I decided to create a map showing the location and layout of Terra Dimentica. I looked at the designs for maps of Middle Earth as my inspiration here.

Terra Dimentica Map

As there are a lot of water ways and high uneven terrain in Terra Dimentica I decided to make bridges a integral part of the landscape. Each bridge crossed would take you away from any sort of logical process of how the landscape and creatures should appear.

I wanted to have unique creatures and dwellings in each part of the land. Creatures who could perhaps only remain in habitats on Terra Dimentica that were specifically suited towards their needs so it would be difficult if not impossible for the different creatures to travel between the regions of their world.

Leave a Reply

